Three LCCC Students Named 2018 Coca-Cola Leaders of Promise Scholar

CHEYENNE, WYO. — Chelsea Davis-Hearn, Madison Reiber, and Addison Stevenson from Laramie County Community College are among just 207 Phi Theta Kappa members named as 2018 Coca-Cola Leaders of Promise Scholar and will receive a $1,000 scholarship.

More than 1,200 applications were received for this scholarship program, which helps new Phi Theta Kappa members defray educational expenses while enrolled in associate degree programs. Scholars are also encouraged to assume leadership roles by participating in Society programs and are selected based on scholastic achievement, community service, and leadership potential.

Phi Theta Kappa is the premier honor society recognizing the academic achievement of students at associate degree-granting colleges. The society is made up of more than 3.5 million members and nearly 1,300 chapters in 10 nations.

A total of $207,000 is awarded through the Leaders of Promise Scholarship Program. The funds provided by not only aid college completion, but also give students the opportunity to engage in society programs and develop leadership skills to become future leaders in their communities.

"Research shows that Phi Theta Kappa members are four times more likely to complete a college degree than their peers," said Dr. Monica Marlowe, Executive Director of the Phi Theta Kappa Foundation. "The Leaders of Promise Scholarships recognize students for what they have achieved already and assure that financial need isn't an obstacle to achieving their academic goals."